Answered: Your top questions about workers’ compensation claims in Norfolk

Suffering an injury while you are on the job can be scary. If you are seriously hurt at work in Norfolk, you may have to spend days at work to recover, while medical bills and income losses will continue to pile up. The workers’ compensation system in Virginia ensures injured workers have financial support during these trying times. Employers are required to have insurance, and the carrier pays the benefits to deserving claimants. You may have many questions on your mind, like whether you should hire an attorney and how to proceed. We have answered some of the top questions below. 

Is it mandatory to notify the employer?

Yes, it is your duty to inform your employer about the accident and injuries you have suffered. You should report in writing and within 30 days from the date of your injury. 

Do I need to file the workers’ compensation claim?

Yes, injured workers are required to complete the Claim Form with the Commission. Your employer will file an accident report and send it to the insurance company. They will also inform the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission. However, pursuing the claim is your responsibility. Note that there is a statute of limitations, which has set a deadline of 2 years for such claims. 

Why do I need an attorney?

When it comes to workers’ compensation claims, you must understand the complications of the process. There is paperwork involved, and the insurance company won’t work as your friend. If your claim is denied, you can file an appeal, for which there will be a hearing where you need to present documents and evidence. Having an attorney ensures you don’t have to worry about all that and can focus on your recovery. 

How much will workers’ compensation lawyers charge?

It is common for attorneys to handle workers’ compensation claims on contingency. The lawyer doesn’t get an hourly rate but a part of the benefits they recover for your claim. You don’t have to worry about paying anything for consultation, either. 

Will I get my job back?

The answer depends on the circumstances. If you return from the injury and can continue with the same job as before, your employer may retain you. Remember, employers are not obligated to do so. However, you can take action if your employer retaliates against you for filing a workers’ compensation claim. 

Make a list of questions before you see an attorney to discuss your claim.  

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *